The Lloyd’s building, sometimes referred to as the Inside Out Building, for obvious reasons, is the headquarters of the insurers Lloyd’s of London.
The first Lloyd’s building was built on the site in 1928. Most of that building was demolished to make room for the new building that opened in 1986 but the old entrance remains attached to it.
Sir Edwin Cooper was the architect of this Grade II listed structure built of Portland stone. It’s a classic example of London’s old nestled next to its new.
Preserved are memorials of members of staff at Lloyds who gave their lives in both World Wars.
At the top is a very impressive sculpture by Charles Doman, a Nottingham sculptor, of a globe spanned by signs of the zodiac at the equator. Leaning against it is a man representing shipping and a woman representing commerce.